top of page

History of the Farwest Region

Untitled design.png

Regional Directors were officially incorporated into the sorority's organizational framework in 1925. The first chapter within the Farwest Region, Kappa chapter was chartered at the University of California, Berkeley, in 1921.


At the 1969 National Convention in Baltimore, Maryland, the National Executive Board was tasked with integrating Regional Representation into the leadership structure of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., leading to the creation of the regional representatives role.

Currently, the Farwest Region encompasses 97 chapters located in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Japan, Korea, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. Our region maintains the distinction of being home to founders Bertha Pitts Campbell, whose final resting place is in Seattle, WA; Zephyr Chisholm Carter, interred in Whittier, CA; and Wertie Blackwell Weaver, laid to rest in Compton, CA.

The region also celebrates the contributions of Vivian Osborne Marsh (7th National President), Geraldine Pittman Woods (13th National President), and Mona Humphries Bailey (17th National President), all of whom served the Farwest Region with distinction.


Notably, the role of the first Farwest Regional Representative was assumed by Soror Jayne Ware Williams in 1969, who later ascended to the role of National 2nd Vice-President of the Sorority.

National Leadership from the Farwest Region

Regional Directors of the Farwest Region

Regional Representatives

bottom of page